Clio Search

Entries

190 locations found within miles.

  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Falling Spring is one building in the complex known as Morgan's Grove, completed in 1837. Morgan's Grove was settled by Richard Morgan in 1730, with Richard's grandson Jacob Morgan constructing Fallin... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    One acre of land was set aside for use as a cemetery in 1780 by Abraham Shepherd to the Elders of the Shepherdstown Presbyterian Church. Since then, the cemetery has served as the final resting place... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Captain Hugh Stephenson quickly assembled his company of riflemen at Shepherdstown. Speed in preparation was essential; armed resistance against the British had erupted in April of 1775. The Cont... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SW corner of where Duke (Route 480) and New Sts once intersected. The log cabin in which James Rumsey lived (1785-1788) stood on this spot where now stands a brick house built in 1860. A plaque on the... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    NW corner of German and Duke Sts. In the early 1800s the Weis family began turning out a reddish brown pottery in a wooden house on this site. In 1815 a fire spread from the kilns behind the house and... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    This historic bed and breakfast was built as a parsonage for St. Peter’s Lutheran Church in 1868. The Federal-style home served the church in this capacity until 1936, when the property was sold to Ha... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    at the intersection of Duke and W German Sts. Has been called through the years somebody’s corner: Byers’, Beltzhoover’s and Weis’s, depending on who lived on the corner at the time. Occasionally duri... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    204 Washington St., built c. 1790 and home to the Miller family for over a century. Solomon Miller and his wife Sophia Cookus Miller were both children of Revolutionary War veterans and produced a fam... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    214 W German. This rambling two-story stucco house has a colorful history. During the Revolutionary War a log tavern on the site became a rendezvous for American forces. A large yard behind provided a... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    215 W German St. In 1800 John Baker, a local attorney, purchased this house, adjacent to the Rickard House. He served in Congress and the Virginia legislature as a Federalist. In 1817 he bought the Ne... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    NW corner of Washington and Church Sts, one block south of the United Methodist Church. Dedicated in 1891 in honor of Agnes Gibson (1853-1941), a lay person who played a major role in raising funds fo... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    211/213 W German St. Rickard was among the German artisans who settled here in the l8th century. The west side of this two-story brick house provided residential quarters for the family, and the east... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Construction of this historic church began in 1854 and replaced a previous wood structure that had been destroyed by a fire earlier in the year. Differences over slavery caused a split in the Methodis... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SW corner of German and Church Sts. It features a grey stone spire that rises high above the town. A Gothic Revival structure of native stone, it was completed in 1859 on the eastern end of the old Pa... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    NW corner of German and Church Sts. Grew from a dwelling built in 1795 by John and Mary Line. John Kearsley, a Revolutionary veteran, long time Presbyterian elder, substantial property owner, and pres... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SE corner of German and Church Sts. Likely the second house on lot 17, the original front portion was built by Michael Fouke, Sr., about 1795, and sold by the Fouke family in 1815 to Conrad Shindler,... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Billmyer Building DRAFT - In Progress
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    NE corner of German and Church Sts (known as “Billmyer’s Corner” for generations). This is one of the oldest buildings in town. A log building occupied the site in 1776; the third story and the brick... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    104 W New St. The large federal style brick house, constructed in 1814, was purchased by Thomas Van Swearingen in 1815 and sold to John Baker in 1817. It has served as the rectory since 1846. The Shep... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    131 W German St. The Opera House replaced a one hundred year old building in 1909. Here moving pictures were shown continuously until 1956. Thirty-five years later, after extensive renovation, it reop... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    126 W German St. Abutting Bedinger’s law office, it was Lindsey’s Tavern in 1800. By the mid 1800s it had become the site of the flourishing general store of John McEndree. Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    east side of N Church St. Contains the graves of several members of the founding families. Nine Revolutionary soldiers also are interred here. Another, William Morgan, Sr., is said to have been buried... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    122 W German St. A large limestone dwelling built in 1790 by German-born Revolutionary War veteran Michael Yeasley, it predates most of the brick buildings. Here Yeasley operated a mercantile store. H... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SE corner of Church and High Sts. The “Old English Church” began as a log cabin in 1745. A stone structure called the Mecklenburg Chapel replaced the original building in 1769. Though it has gone thro... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SW corner King and Washington Sts. Officially chartered in 1743, this is the oldest continuous congregation in town. In the early 1780s, the congregation built a log church on the corner opposite the... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    100 W New St., built as a log house c. 1786 by Christian Clise, who purchased the lot from Abraham Shepherd in 1785. Clise sold the house in 1790 and moved to Lexington, Va., where he and his son buil... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SE corner of King and New Sts. Built in 1912, this red brick building of Gothic design with a square steepled tower at one corner housed the fire department and served as a community building, town ha... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    119 W German St. The oldest general store location in town, it began as Morris and Brown’s general store in 1804 and continued for the next 158 years. Among the long-time proprietors, the Tabler famil... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    This is a modern brick structure that replaced an older smaller building in 2011. Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SW corner of King and German Sts. Was used as a general store or grocery store from the early 1800s until the late 1980s. During the antebellum era local militia organizations used the brick double ho... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    NW corner of German and King Sts. One of the oldest buildings in town, it is located on Town Lot No. 1. Three generations of the Sheetz family manufactured guns and stocks here from before the America... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Located in the heart of Shepherdstown, the Shepherdstown Public Library was built in the 1800s as a market house, offering local farmers a sheltered place to sell their wares. It has also been home to... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    This Greek Revival building was constructed by Rezin D. Shepherd in 1859. The building was intended to be a Town Hall, when the center portion of the building was constructed. The building was used as... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SW corner of King and High Sts. Dedicated in 1908, this structure became the second church for the Lutheran congregation. The church bell, dating from 1879, was brought from the first church and insta... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SE corner of German and King Sts. Also known as the Men’s Club Building. Built in 1868 to house the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, it was the first substantial building on the eastern half of the... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Attached to McMurran Hall, Reynolds was built though the fund-raising efforts of Townspeople in 1889. Katherine Reynolds, wife of the town's long time doctor, John Reynolds, led the campaign. Complete... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    S side of E New St, between King and Princess Sts. The long two-story building has been called Stone Row for generations. Built in the early 1790s, it began as Philip Shutt’s Brewhouse. Irish workingm... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Knutti Hall is the beginning of Shepherd University’s East Campus. Shepherd University east campus extends all the way down German Street with eleven more buildings down the street. Knutti Hall was th... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Built in the early 1800s and spared from the 1912 fire which burned adjacent buildings to the east on East German Street, including part of the Entler property. Charles Harper started an apothecary sh... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The exterior of this historic downtown building has changed little from the time of the early republic, it might be the only on the south side of town with little renovations. From the late 1790's to... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Masonic Temple Building was constructed to serve as a permanent Lodge for the Shepherdstown charter of Freemasons. While that is its primary use, the building also serves as a meeting place for th... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Located behind the Entler Hotel, the Rumsey Steamboat Museum was built in 1988 to house the Rumseian Experiment, a working replica of James Rumsey's 1787 steamboat constructed for the bicentennial of... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    One of the only surviving structures from the colonial settlement that grew to become Shepherdstown, this house was built of logs and now clad in wood siding, it is the last survivor of the similar st... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SE Corner of New and Princess Sts. One of the two public schoolhouses in town built by the state of Virginia in 1848, it continues to serve the cause of education as office space for Shepherd Universi... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Museums, Galleries and Archives
    Historic Shepherdstown Museum is located in the former Entler Hotel. The museum details the history of Shepherdstown and houses many historical artifacts crafted by local artisans. Rooms are arranged... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SW corner Princess and E German Sts. A large brick structure and residence from the early 1800s to the 1880s. Resident families included three generations of the Reinhart family, then the Line family.... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SE corner of Princess and German Sts. Owner J. Matt Tolliver seems to have been the downtown area’s first successful black businessman. His name appears in the town records during the years 1877 to 19... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    W side of Princess St. between German and High Sts. Built in1929 as a Shepherd College teacher training project largely through the efforts of education professor Florence Shaw. The farm includes a sm... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Constructed in 1906 for Jefferson Security Bank, this distinctive Beaux Arts style building was one of Shepherdstown's leading downtown banks until 1975. In that year, the bank completed construction... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    203 E German St, adjacent to the Yellow Brick Bank. A complex of three structures built for the Shepherd family as a town home, including a small rectangular brick building (which served as a doctor’s... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    109-113 N Princess St. A combination brick and clapboard building. Here, according to local lore, in November, 1790, Nathaniel Willis published the Potowmak Guardian and Berkeley Advertiser, the first... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    101 N Princess St, adjacent to Yellow Brick Bank. Built in the late 1790s in the Federal style, this was the in-town residence and law office of the Hon. Thomas Van Swearingen, Esq. from 1817 until hi... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    SE corner, Princess and High Sts. The site of Getzendanner’s mill in late 1790s, the current structure on the corner dates to 1920 and exemplifies the architectural style of service stations in the ea... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    204 E German St, opposite the Gray Lodge. A log cabin owned by Martin Entler housed a tavern on this site as early as 1769. In 1781 Cornelius Wynkoop acquired the tavern. Here, some alleged, steamboat... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Near NE corner of Princess and High Sts. Built over Town Run by the owners of the residence to the left for the purpose of washing clothes. From the 1920s to mid-1950s it was used as a residence. Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    213 E German St. Town records list the poorhouse as early as 1805. Here, following Elizabethan tradition, the town provided a modicum of care for the poor and elderly. Though it began as a log house,... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    207 E German St. Built in 1865 by Dr. John Reynolds who served the town as a doctor for more than 40 years. As town mayor 1860 to 1862 he had to deal with a dangerous situation when unknown persons on... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    207 E High. A two story stone mill built c. 1738. About 1835, a wooden third story was added. Sometime in the 19th century, a huge overshot wheel of 12 tons and 40 feet in diameter was built, position... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    301 E German St. In 1796, this brick house replaced an earlier log house. The trials of the Parran family poignantly illustrate the tragic impact of the Civil War. Dr. Richard Parran, a physician, die... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    From the corner of Princess and High Sts, N Princess makes a steep descent to the Potomac. Town Run falls here through a steep ravine where once gristmills, sawmills, manufacturing mills and warehouse... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    at the bottom of N Princess St. At the rivers edge, one stands at the border between West Virginia and Maryland. Here too is the former ferry landing, still in use as a boat ramp. The old piers in the... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    N side of E German St, directly across the street from Christ Reformed Church. Here in 1795, the Lutherans built a beautiful brick church which served the congregation until 1908, when they constructe... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    S side of E German St., just beyond the N&W Railroad tracks. The German Reformed congregation built this church in 1839 on the site used by the German Reformed congregation since its organization abou... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Between E German and E High Sts., on Audrey Egle Dr. The Norfolk and Western Railroad built the passenger station in 1909. Waiting rooms and rest rooms were segregated. After nearly a half century of... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Located along the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal, these historical markers share the history of Shepherdstown and its role in the Civil War. The marker of the left offers a general history of Shepherdstown... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    James Rumsey was born in 1743 to a Maryland farm family. Rumsey volunteered for service in the Revolutionary War. Though Rumsey’s mechanical aptitude was apparent to many in the community he al... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    On the evening of September 18, 1862 Confederate General Robert E. Lee decided to retreat to Virginia. The Battle of Antietam had proved costly, halting Lee’s invasion of Maryland. With his beate... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Elmwood Farm/Plantation DRAFT - Submitted for Review
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Elmwood Plantation is located on land claimed by one of the Shenandoah's first settlers, Edward Lucas the II in 1732. His son Edward Lucas III, a Revolutionary War soldier, built the Plantation house... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Located in Washington County, Maryland, Antietam Station was built by the Norfolk and Western Railroad in 1911. After Antietam Campaign in 1862, thousands of veteran and families passed through the st... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Nicodemus Hill was a strategic location at the battle of Sharpsburg or Antietam located close to the iconic Dunkard Chruch. The importance of the battle is it gave the Union a major victory and sent t... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Antietam National Cemetery DRAFT - Submitted for Review
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Antietam National Cemetery is part of the National Park Service and is located on the Antietam Battlefield in Sharpsburg, Maryland. It contains the graves of soldiers killed during the Maryland C... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Duffield's Depot is the second oldest train station in America dating back to 1839. The Baltimore and Ohio Railroad used the depot as one of their stops until 1883, when they constructed new depots. T... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    A British soldier who was dispatched to the North American colonies, Horatio Gates served with distinction during General Braddock’s attempt to seize Fort Duquesne from the French. Gates was wou... Learn More
  • Thumbnail Placeholder
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Fourteen bridge constructions were commissioned to connect roads in Washington County. Master bridge builder John Weaver completed construction on five of them in 1836, including one built by local D... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Battle of Antietam was fought at dawn on September 17, 1862 near Sharpsburg, Maryland. It is known as the bloodiest one day battle in American history with more than 22,000 casualties and wounds.... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Antietam National Battlefield is located in western Maryland, 10 miles south of Hagerstown near Sharpsburg. The best place to start your visit to this historical site is at the park visitor center.... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Battle at Bloody Lane, took place on September 17, 1862 in Sharpsburg, Maryland. Union Major General William French led 5,500 soldiers while Major General D. H. Hill, with half the amount led 2,60... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Civil War Battle of Falling Waters (July 2, 1861), was the first battle in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. The battle was fought in present day Berkley, WV. This battle was used by the Confeder... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Kennedy Farm served as abolitionist John Brown's headquarters as he planned the October 1859 raid on Harpers Ferry. The farmhouse was originally built by Robert F. Kennedy in the 1850s but sat emp... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Green Hill Cemetery was established in 1854, designed by David Hunter Strother a.k.a. Porte Crayon. Based on a conical design, the graveyard wraps around the hill and is capped by a chapel at the top.... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    This house serves as a landmark dedicated to Belle Boyd and her family, and houses the Berkeley County Museum. Belle Boyd was a spy for the Confederacy. The landmark and museum are located in Martinsb... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Adam Stephen, a medical doctor, was also a colonial military officer during the French and Indian War. He served with George Washington in General Braddock’s attack on the French at Fort Duquesne... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Dating from the 1840's, the Martinsburg Roundhouse complex is a rare example of 19th century railroading technology in existence today. The Roundhouse is located in Martinsburg, West Virginia and has... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Great Panic of 1873 set in motion unprecedented economic hardships in the United States. Railroads experienced some of the hardest economic hits after tremendous expansion. On July 11th, 1877 the... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Berkeley Hotel Marker Railroad Raids Survivor Erected by: West Virginia Civil War Trails Inscription reads as follows: This is one of the last surviving antebellum buildings in the area. It wa... Learn More
  • Thumbnail Placeholder
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    In 1913, the Apollo Theatre became the social and cultural center for the Martinsburg area. It was built by owner H.P. Thorn and designed by architect Reginald Geare, notable for designing the Knicker... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Museums, Galleries and Archives
    Belle Boyd was born in West Virginia in May of year 1844. She became a Confederate spy before her 18th birthday. Her Civil War missions involved transporting information and supplies to the Southern(C... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    While there are numerous historical markers in the region that share the history of a specific event, this marker shares an overview of the history of Martinsburg during the Civil War. Owing to its st... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    The Pry House Field Hospital Museum is located on the Antietam Battlefield in the historic Pry House, which was the home to Union Commander General George B. McClellan and Medical Director Dr. Jonatha... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Doughboy statue honors the infantry soldiers from Martinsburg and throughout Berkely County who served in the United States Army during the first World War. The statue was dedicated on New Year's... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Also known as the Battle of Hainesville and the Battle of the Falling Waters, is the battle of Hoke’s Run. This was an early battle of the Civil War. The Battle of Hoke’s run was during the Manassas c... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Boydville is an historic mansion that belonged to Elisha Boyd an officer in the Fourth Virginian regiment of the War of 1812. His son-in-law, Charles Faulkner, also served in the Civil War. The mansio... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Strider Farm was built in 1790 by Phillip Strider and has been continuously owned by the Strider Family to the present. The farm and the family were both influential in the economic and religious... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    John Robert Clifford operated the first black newspaper in West Virginia and argued two landmark civil rights cases before the state's Supreme Court. He was also a founding member of the Niagara Movem... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Jefferson County Alms House, originally named Snow Hill, is a Federal-style home constructed in 1813 for John Hurst. In 1857 it was sold to the Overseers of the Poor in Jefferson County and functi... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Time Capsule-Historic Images and Recollections
    The era of independent automobile manufacturing in the U.S. peaked in 1909. In that year, 272 different manufacturers produced automobiles. From 1909 until 1922, The Norwalk Motor Car Company was... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    From 1870-1929, this school served African-American children. It was later converted to a private residence and is today owned by a non-profit organization that hopes to use the facility for education... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Located next to the Halltown Colored Free School, this Sunday school was built in 1901. It served both the local black community and a local African-American non-denominational congregation until 1967... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Prato Rio, now a privately owned modern home near Leetown in Jefferson County, West Virginia, has a history that dates back to before the Revolutionary War. Prato Rio was the home of General Charles L... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Bower was initially constructed in 1806 by Adam Stephen Dandridge I, though the property had contained a hunting lodge well before that. The earliest known owner of the property was Major General... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Bolivar, West Virginia DRAFT - Submitted for Review
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Paralleling their namesake, Bolivar, West Virginia carries a military history whose fighters sought to further democratic ideology. Founded in 1825, the same year that Simon Bolivar carried the Republ... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    The Purple Iris at Hartwood Mansion DRAFT - Submitted for Review
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Built in 1929, the Purple Iris is a Twentieth Century Neo-Georgian Revival style mansion that has been repurposed as an event house/restaurant that caters to events such as weddings, anniversaries, an... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Virginia Lodge No. 1 is a historic building in Harpers Ferry and is home to the oldest Independent Order of Odd Fellows lodge in West Virginia. The IOOF is one of the largest fraternal organizations i... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    In 1932, a delegation of NAACP members led by W. E. B. DuBois journeyed to Storer College’s campus and attempted to place a plaque honoring abolitionist John Brown. John Brown’s Fort, the armory engin... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Storer College was the first African American college in West Virginia. The institution had been established by the Free Will Baptist church as a school for runaway slaves during the Civil War. In 186... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Harpers Ferry National Historical Park is nestled in-between the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers with views of Maryland and Virginia. Visitors can cross the Potomac River and hike to the peak of Marylan... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Battle of Harpers Ferry took place September 12-15, 1862, during the American Civil War. As Confederate General Robert E. Lee invaded Maryland, he also hoped to capture the Union garrison statione... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Coralie Franklin Cook House DRAFT - Submitted for Review
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Coralie Franklin Cook was an 1880 graduate of the nearby Storer College in Harper's Ferry, West Virginia. She taught Elocution and English at Storer College from 1882 through 1893. According to Histor... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Potomac Power Plant is a historic hydroelectric facility at Harpers Ferry. Since the early nineteenth century, the site had been used as a source of water power for various projects, and the U.S.... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Morrell House, also known as the Paymaster’s Clerk’s Quarters, is a historic residence in Harpers Ferry, West Virginia. The home was originally built from 1857 through 1858 to house the U.S. Armor... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Brackett House, also known as the Superintendent’s Clerk’s House, is a historic residence in Harpers Ferry, West Virginia. The structure was built in 1858 to house the U.S. Armory’s superintendent... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The historic Lockwood House, also known as the Paymaster’s Quarters, is one of the largest residences in Harpers Ferry. Constructed in 1848, the structure was originally used as the home for the U.S.... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Maryland Heights allowed for the Union soldiers to be able to have the high ground during the war. From this point, they could see all the area around them and they were not subject to the enemy’s s... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Virginius Island is a small island located in the southern portion of Harpers Ferry on the Shenandoah River. Virginius was once an independent town and was home to various businesses, with the primary... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The train station at Harpers Ferry was built in 1894 by the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad. Designed by architect E. Francis Baldwin, it came during a time of increased tourism for Harpers Ferry and a gold... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Murphy Farm, also referred to as the Murphy-Chambers Farm, is a historic property at Harpers Ferry. Originally the home of Edmund H. Chambers, the farm would become an important factor in the 1862 Bat... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Time Capsule-Historic Images and Recollections
    At this tavern, supporters of John Brown helped plan his raid on the federal arsenal at Harper's Ferry. Brown hoped to capture weapons and escape to the hills of western Virginia where he could rally... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Located in the heart of historic Harpers Ferry, this popular museum opened in 1961, shortly after the area was designated as a National Park. The John Brown Wax Museum tells the history of radical abo... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Named in honor of the third President of the United States who stood here and declared it the finest view of the most beautiful section of Virginia he had ever seen, Jefferson Rock is a highlight for... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The John Brown Monument is a stone obelisk marking the original site of the engine house where John Brown made his last stand during his historic raid in 1859. John Brown and his supporters failed in... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    St. Peter’s Roman Catholic Church is a historic structure in Harpers Ferry, West Virginia. Completed in 1833, it was the third church in Harpers Ferry as well as the first Catholic parish in Jefferson... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Built between 1775 and 1782, the Robert Harper House is the oldest surviving structure in the Lower Town of Harpers Ferry. It bears the name of Robert Harper, who established the town of Harpers Ferry... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    This memorial to Heyward Shepherd was erected in Harpers Ferry, West Virginia in 1931. Heyward Shepherd was an African American killed during John Brown's raid at Harper's Ferry on October 17, 1859. S... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Harpers Ferry Park Association and National Park Bookshop are housed in the historic John G. Wilson Building, also known as the Stagecoach Inn, on Shenandoah Street. Constructed in 1826, the Wilso... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Master Armorer’s Quarters, also known as the New Master Armorer’s Quarters, the Daingerfield House, and Building 36, is a historic residence in the Lower Town area of Harpers Ferry. The structure... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Dry Goods Store, also known as the Old Master Armorer’s Quarters, the Samuel Annin House, or more simply Building 35, is a historic building in the Lower Town of Harpers Ferry. Constructed in 1812... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Time Capsule-Historic Images and Recollections
    The United States Armory and Arsenal at Harpers Ferry, often called the Harpers Ferry Armory, was a series of facilities used for the manufacture and storage of firearms for the United States governme... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Until 1824, Harper's Ferry relied on the ferry of the same name for transportation across the Potomac River. Since then, five bridges have been built over the Potomac, though only two are still standi... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Located in Jefferson County, West Virginia, Harewood is the home of George Washington's brother, Samuel Washington. Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races is a horse racing track with a casino and hotel that opened on December 3, 1933. When owners Albert and Joseph Boyle spent money on building the track, it coste... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Webb-Blessing House is one of the oldest stone structures built and owned by free African Americans in Jefferson County. This structure in Charles Town, WV consists of two homes that were combined... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Established in 1865 by the Freedmens' Bureau, the first African American school in Charles Town was located in the Achilles Dixon home. The school located in the Dixon home was named the Liberty Stree... Learn More
  • Thumbnail Placeholder
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    In 1910, Annie G. Packette raised $50,000 and employed Washington, D.C. architects A.B. Mullett & Co. to construct the New Opera House. Designed in a classical revival style, this theatre included a p... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Jefferson County Museum DRAFT - In Progress
    Museums, Galleries and Archives
    The Jefferson County Museum is located in historic downtown Charles Town and shares a building with its partner organization, the Charles Town Library. Since its founding in 1965, the museum has been... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Martin Delany was born in Charles Town WV and went on to become one of the most influential African Americans of the 19th century. Delany was an abolitionist, author, editor, physician, and the highes... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Jefferson County Courthouse was originally built in 1808 in Charles Town on a plot of land donated by Charles Washington. The original structure is now part of a larger structural addition that wa... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    A landmark, consisting of two sides, tells the story behind the Star Lodge Number 1 and the Old Stone House. This is one of the oldest buildings in Charles Town, being built in 1970s. Also,one of the... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Built in 1891, the Gibson-Todd house was designed by the architect Thomas A. Mullet. While the building has gotten attention over the years, the site is better known for being the place where John Bro... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    An African-American Episcopal church 20 years in the making. In the early 1900s an epidemic of smallpox swept through the community and the church served as an emergency community hospital. Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    With African Americans no longer enslaved in the turn of the century, many African Americans looked for organizations or places where they could prosper. Many of them joined churches and organizations... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    In 1866, Page Jackson High School became the first publicly funded school for African Americans students in Jefferson County. The first Jefferson County Branch President of the NAACP was Professor E.M... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Happy Retreat, also known as Mordington, was the home of Charles Washington, youngest brother of George Washington. Though he inherited the property in 1752, he did not construct the mansion and move... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Locust Hill Estate DRAFT - Submitted for Review
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Located in Jefferson County, West Virginia, the Locust Hill Estate was built in the spring of 1840. It sits in the quiet Locust Hill neighborhood at the corner of Sheriden and St. Andrews. All that re... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Hammond House is located on Hammond Mill Road, Route 901, at Spring Mills directly across from the Falling Waters Presbyterian Church. Hammond House Marker Headquarters and Hospital Erected... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Museums, Galleries and Archives
    The L. Norman Dillon Farm Museum is a museum that is set on 8+ acres of land in Berkeley County, WV. The museum houses many antique farming machines and tools. The museum is a work in progress and h... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Established in 1791, the town of Darksville, built on the land of James Buckells, is named for General William Darke, a soldier that served in both the French and Indian War and the Revolutionary War.... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    These historical markers located along the Appalachian Trail offer information about the infamous "Lost Orders" of General Robert E. Lee. Near this location, Lee reportedly lost Special Order 191, and... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Claymont Court was built by Bushrod Corbin Washington, the nephew of George Washington. The home was built in 1820 on what was once Washington's land. The original home was damaged by a fire, and was... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Camp Hopkins was a camp occupied by detachments of the 54th Pennsylvania and 1st West Virginia Infantry regiments. The men were sent here to guard and repair the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, a main su... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Blakeley Plantation was built in 1820 by John Augustine Washington II and is now privately owned and placed on the National Registry of Historic Places. Generations of President George Washington's fa... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The construction of the earliest parts of the Snodgrass Tavern was started in 1742, though the builder is unknown. The structure was built in parts and is one of the oldest buildings in West Virginia.... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    On September 14, 1862, Union General Jacob D. Cox attacked Confederate Brigadier-General Samuel Garland at Fox's Gap; this gap was one of only two gaps that led through South Mountain and to Robert E.... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Beaver Creek Museum is a historical two room school house. The school house dates back to 1904 and includes many items from the time period. Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Located in Bunker Hill, West Virginia, there is a cabin of the first known white resident of West Virginia, Morgan Morgan. In 1726, Morgan Morgan came to Western Virginia with his wife and five childr... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The original Morgan Chapel was constructed by Colonel Morgan Morgan, one of the earliest settlers of the region, in 1741 and was the first Episcopal Church in West Virginia. The current red-brick stru... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The James Johnston Pettigrew Monument was constructed in 1918 by The North Carolina Historical Commission and The North Carolina Division, United Daughters of the Confederacy. THE INSCRIPTION READS... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Battle of Summit Point, also known as Flowing Springs or Cameron's Depot, was an inconclusive battle of the American Civil War fought on August 21, 1864, near Summit Point, West Virginia in Jeffer... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Gerradstown Presbyterian Church dates back to a congregation established in the late 1700's. The first meetinghouse was built in what was then known as Middletown (later changed to Gerrardstown in hon... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Situated in one of the most beautiful city parks in America is a Georgian-style mansion house built by John Heyser circa 1846. The mansion serves as the headquarters for The Valley Art Association. Or... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Museums, Galleries and Archives
    The Washington County Museum of Fine Arts' mission is to offer education of the arts to the public, and support artists of the area. In efforts to realize their mission, the Washington County Museum o... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Museums, Galleries and Archives
    The two-story stone house was built by Jonathan Hager around 1740. Hager was a German immigrant and is known as the founder of what is known today as Hagerstown, Maryland. Today, the house is owned by... Learn More
  • Thumbnail Placeholder
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Like Fort Duquesne, Fort Frederick was constructed during the French and Indian War. Located south of Big Pool on the C&O Canal, the fort was constructed between 1756 and 1757 by the colony of Maryla... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Fort Frederick was built in 1756-57 by the colony of Maryland and was a center of action during the French and Indian War. Between 1757 and 1758, small raids by Indians in nearby settlements caused se... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Built in 1897 to serve as a school for local African-American children, this building now serves as a church for the Mt. Olive Methodist Congregation Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Hedges Chapel is a small non-denominational church built in 1850 by the Hedges Family and their associates. The logs that make up its structure are no longer visible due to later renovations. Adjoined... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Mason-Dixon Line is usually associated with the division between the northern (free) and southern (slave) states during the 1800s and American Civil War-era, but it was delineated in the mid-1700s... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Rich Bottom Farm is a historic home and farmstead in Loundoun County, Virginia, near the town of Purcellville. Built between 1780 and 1820, the farm is particularly notable for being a very well-p... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Lucketts School is a historic school located in Lucketts, Virginia. Built in 1913, it was one of Loudoun County’s very first multi-room schoolhouses, and would go on to serve as an elementary school u... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The only Biosafety level 4 (BSL-4) laboratory under the Department of Defense, safety requirements are extensive and complex. Double Door airlocks, specialized filtration systems, fumigation chambers,... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Conococheague (pronounced Konica-Jig) Settlement is a well-preserved historic farmstead that was established in the early 18th century in southern Franklin County, Pennsylvania, near the village of We... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Barbara Fritchie House is the reconstructed house that Dame Fritchie lived in during her lifetime. Fritchie was born December 3, 1766, in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. She married John Casper Fritchie... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Sunnyside Farm is a historic home and historic farm property in Loudoun County, Virginia, located near the town of Hamilton. Originally built around 1815, the home has seen several major additions to... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Frederick, Maryland is commonly referred to as the birthplace of Elijah Abel (some times it is spelled "Abels"), believed to have been a slave that escaped to Canada via the Underground Railroad. Late... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    In the Shenandoah Valley, the Battle of Third Winchester or Opequon was the largest battle fought within the valley. Around 9,000 casualties were the result of the conflicts in the area. With Maj. Gen... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Museums, Galleries and Archives
    The National Museum of Civil War Medicine is the premier center for the preservation and research of the legacy of Civil War Medical innovation and humanitarianism. The National Museum of Civil War Me... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Janney House is a historic home in Loudoun County, Virginia, in the town of Hamilton. Built in 1876, the home is an excellent example of Late Victorian architecture, and served the Janney family f... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    In the summer of 1864, General Jubal Early led Confederate forces towards Washington, D.C. and threatened to capture the capital city. On July 9, Union troops under General Lew Wallace met Early's for... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Camp David is the recreational home of the President of the United States. Located in the heavily wooded Catoctin Mountain Park, it is a serene retreat only 62 miles away from the bustling city of Was... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Ellwood (previously known as Leeland and the Lawrence Lee House) is a historic home in Loudoun County, Virginia, in the Leesburg area. Built by Waddy Butler Wood from 1911 until 1912, Ellwood was desi... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Rockland is a historic home in Leesburg, Virginia, and is specifically the home of the Rust family of Virginia. Originally acquired by General George Rust in 1817, the property was developed into a la... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Morven Park is a historic estate located in Leesburg, Virginia. Founded beginning around 1780, the Morven Park is home to a number of historic homes, gardens, and museums. On November 19th, 1974, it w... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Near this location on the evening of July 31, 1929, Deputy Sheriff Clyde L. Hauver was fatally wounded in a raid on a still near this marker. Police eventually tracked down several suspects, and two m... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    The Monocacy Aqueduct which is sometimes referred to as The C&O Canal Aqueduct No. 2 is the largest Aqueduct on the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal. It crosses the Monocacy river before it empties out... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Winchester National Cemetery covers nearly 5 acres in Fredrick County and is administered by Quantico National Cemetery. The cemetery serves as the final resting place for 5,561 Union soldiers and the... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The Old Chapel was constructed in 1792 to house the Frederick Episcopalian parish. This building replaced the log structure, Cunningham's Chapel, which was built in 1747. Due to population growth in t... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Fort Loudoun was constructed in 1756 to serve as a defensive fortification against attacks from French forces and their Native American allies. The plans for the fort were drawn up by George Washingto... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    This Hudson River Gothic Revival style house, a Virginia and National Historic Landmark, was used as headquarters by General “Stonewall” Thomas Jackson during the winter of 1861-1862. Stonewall descri... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Mount Hebron Cemetery is a complex of five adjoining graveyards within a single enclosure. The oldest graves date back to 1769. One section of the cemetery serves as the final resting place for many R... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    The George Washington Hotel is located in downtown Winchester, VA, near the Handley Library and the Museum of the Shenandoah Valley. Opened in 1924, the hotel has served as a popular gathering spot fo... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    Handley Library was built as part of the last will and testament of Judge John Handley, though construction would not begin until 1908. Designed by John Barney and Henry Chapman at a final cost of $23... Learn More
  • Thumbnail
    Historic Sites, Monuments, Landmarks, and Public Art
    From its creation in 2003, the Old Court House Civil War Museum works to preserve and share the history of northern Virginia within the Civil War through the preservation of artifacts, creating and cu... Learn More
Showing locations 1 to 190

Nearby Tours

  • Shepherdstown Walking Tour- German Street

    This walking tour offers two dozen stops along three blocks of Shepherdstown's historic German Street. The tour begins at Historic Shepherdstown and Museum and moves west, with stops at historic buildings and landmarks.

  • African American History of Harpers Ferry

    Harpers Ferry has long been a major part of African American history, from John Brown's raid to end slavery, to West Virginia's first African American college, to the beginnings of the Niagara Movement. On this tour you will visit several monuments as well as the Storer College campus and some of its earliest buildings.

  • Harpers Ferry Lower Town Tour

    This tour takes you around the Lower Town portion of Harpers Ferry, highlighting some of its most prominent sites. Harpers Ferry has a rich history encompassing firearm manufacturing, the Civil War, African American education, and the Niagara Movement.

  • Industrial History of Harpers Ferry

    Harpers Ferry was an important center of commerce and industry. The Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers provided essential natural highways, while manmade structures such as railroads and canals transported raw materials, goods, and travelers. Throughout Harpers Ferry, mills and manufacturers contributed to local prosperity. It attracted the likes of George Washington, who selected Harpers Ferry as the site of a federal arsenal, which would play a significant role in the Civil War and history of the nation. The remnants of these local industries are preserved by the town's modern economic driver, tourism, and can be explored in depth on this tour.