Edmond J. Eckel Tour
This tour showcases some of architect Edmond Eckel's works in St. Joseph, Missouri.
Once called the Central Library, the Downtown Library is part of the St. Joseph Public Library system. Designed by architect Edmond J. Eckel, construction on the building began in 1900 and was completed in 1902. The interior of the building features stained glass work created in 1907 by artist Paul Wolff, which sits below its iconic copper dome. The interior of the building was restored very closely to its original state in 2004. Some of the restoration efforts included the terrazzo lobby floor which had been covered with carpet for over 50 years.
Originally addressed as 815 Edmond Street, this building was designed by Eckel & Aldrich, Architects and constructed in 1912. It has served as the home of the St. Joseph News-Press for over one hundred years.
Designed by Edmond J. Eckel, during that time the Eckel and Mann Firm, in the Richardsonian Romanesque style in 1889. The construction of the building is primarily red brick, The institution arose out of the desire by the large German population in St. Joseph to establish their own bank. On the facade, you will find zoomorphic grotesques, gargoyles, and Eckel's signature wreath motifs.
Originally owned by George Olds, an agent for the Kansas City, St. Joseph, and Council Bluffs Railroad, and constructed as a double-brick residence completed in the summer of 1878. The architect for the original structure is unkown, but cost $11,000 to construct. In 1900 a ballroom addition for the building was designed by Edmond J. Eckel. Eckel was commissioned again in 1933 to add a gymnasium and squash court onto the building.
Tootle-Lemon Bank, Sixth & Francis, N.W. corner, 1899. Designed in 1899 by Edmond Eckel Architects. This building was later the Tootle-Lacy Bank, and then the Tootle-Enright Bank, and finally the American National Bank. It was demolished prior to 2011.
Designed by architect Edmond J. Eckel, this structure was completed in 1904. It sat on the east side of N. 5th St. In 1935, the building was sold to the St. Joseph Chamber of Commerce who occupied the building until the 1960s. The Elks then moved into the Robidoux Hotel (demolished in 1976). The building was then sold again, this time to the American National Bank. The bank demolished the building to replace it with a drive-thru.
The Corby-Forsee building, the first multi-story office building, towers over Downtown St. Joseph. Designed William Sylvester Eames and Thomas Crane Young and constructed by the Selden Breck Construction Company of St. Louis, Missouri in 1910. In 1927 Eckel and Aldrich designed the addition, which sits above the cornice. While the addition is, stylistically, more utilitarian in contrast with the original design of the building it does feature ornamental iron work of acanthus and anthemion motifs.
The Saxton National Bank was founded by A.M. Saxton and designed by Eckel & Mann in 1880. Construction completed in 1882.