The office building created during this period of change in the brewery's leadership was consistent with other parts of the brewery in exemplifying a heavily German-influenced style. Architect Herman Paul Schnetzky chose the late Romanesque Revival architectural design, incorporating both local cream city brick and a facade using Wauwatosa limestone. The main entrance has a gabled roof and an arched doorway with long windows in between. A frieze carved with 1851 - Val. Blatz Brewing Co. - 1890 also marks the entrance.
Inside the building is a wide entrance hall with a large staircase leading to the upper floor, and brass light fixtures on the walls. The hall is decorated with dark oak wainscotting. The arched doorway leads to the main salon, which is decorated with two nine-light brass chandeliers hanging from a skylight.
In 1920 an addition was constructed in red brick to expand office space, but the one-story building was intended to be more functional than architecturally significant and does not match the 1890 original building. A second story was added to the red brick addition in 1945.
When Blatz was acquired by Pabst in 1958, the new owners occupied the building for their own offices until the early 1980s. It was then renovated and became the Beer Baron restaurant for five years. In 1989 the building was purchased by the Milwaukee School of Engineering (MSOE), becoming its Alumni Partnership Center and the offices for Development and Alumni Affairs. According to MSOE, Great care has been taken to preserve the unique features of this
building, which include hand-carved fireplace mantels, hardwood floors
and oak beams.1 Other tenants have included the Goethe House, a Non-Profit German-American Cultural Institute serving Wisconsin since 1958 before they recently relocated to Wauwatosa.