St. Johnsbury History and Heritage Center
421 Summer St - St. Johnsbury VT
Backstory and Context
Founded in 1760, first as part of the New Hampshire Grants and named "Bessborough" and later regranted by the Republic of Vermont in 1786, an original settler named Dr. Johnathan Arnold and 143 others renamed the town St. Johnsbury in 1790 (StJVT). St. Johnsbury attracted many businesses over the years, including St. Johnsbury Trucking, serving New England, New York and New Jersey, as well as St. Johnsbury Academy and Fairbanks Scale Company.
The St. Johnsbury History and Heritage Center itself believes in "the importance of preserving history, teaching history, exhibiting history and instilling history for generations to come" and it shows (StJHistory). Many of the artifacts are recently acquired from the Fairbanks Museum, including scales from the Fairbanks Scale Company, St. Johnsbury Trucking as well as Cary Maple Company and St. Johnsbury in the Civil War, WW1, WW2 and modern history.
Active community historians, such as Norman Atwood, George Crosby, Claire Dunne Johnson, Graham Newell and William Pearl, all have lended a hand in making St. Johnsbury History and Heritage Center a great place where history comes alive. The enthusiasm, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and all who help out is second to none and the grounds and artifacts are immaculately preserved.
The St. Johnsbury History and Heritage Center also offer ghost walks, cemetery tours and educational activities for all ages. Experience St. Johnsbury's rich history today!
“Town of St. Johnsbury.” Town of St. Johnsbury, stjvt.com/.