Once called the Central Library, the Downtown Library is part of the St. Joseph Public Library system. Designed by architect Edmond J. Eckel, construction on the building began in 1900 and was completed in 1902. The interior of the building features stained glass work created in 1907 by artist Paul Wolff, which sits below its iconic copper dome. The interior of the building was restored very closely to its original state in 2004. Some of the restoration efforts included the terrazzo lobby floor which had been covered with carpet for over 50 years.