One of the notable exhibits on display in the museum is the Lone Star. Built in 1868 by Sam Mitchell, the vessel started out as a packet boat and was remodeled into a towboat after Mitchell sold the craft. It is one of the last wooden-hull built boats with the western river style, which certified it on the National Register of Historic Places. The Lone Star went through various revisions to keep the craft within standard conditions, eventually retiring in 1968. It was then sold to the LeClair Businessmen’s Association where it was docked on the Mississippi River and showcased at the Buffalo Bill Museum today in an enclosure titled “The River Pilot’s Pier.” Visitors of the museum may view the vessel and explore its interior.
The museum’s dedication to Buffalo Bill comes from the figure being born in the town of LeClair, taking pride in its relation. The museum also strives to educate about Buffalo Bill, the man behind the persona, and relations to the time in which he lived. The museum displays items from the local tribes, clothing of the era, and documents on the area’s history. One of the recent editions to the museum is The Robert Schiffke 1920’s Era One Room School House Exhibit. This exhibit, dedicated to the museum’s director, showcases what a one-room school would have looked like, specifically in the early 20th century.