Burnside-Sandusky Gothic House
Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2005, the Burnside-Sandusky Gothic House is among the more unique homes in St. Joseph. It is notable as a fine example of Gothic architecture, which is rarely seen in private residences. It is named after its first owner and builder, businessman John Burnside, and second owner, a gentleman by the name of Mr. Sandusky. Burnside, who was a machine and blacksmith by trade, built the home in 1871. Mr. Sandusky (his first name is not readily available) made a living as a wholesale dealer. More recently, the house operated as a tea and eatery until it closed in 2016. The current status of the home is unknown.
Reeves, Cecilia. "Gothic Tea House closing its doors." New-Press & Gazette. February 8, 2016. http://www.newspressnow.com/news/local_news/gothic-tea-house-closing-its-doors/article_0be6ef58-c943-5256-8323-bb6416cf703d.html.