Now home to the Orleans County YMCA, this imposing building was once the Medina Armory. It was built in 1901 to house the 29th Separate Company of the U.S. National Guard. State architect George Heins designed the building in the Late Victorian style and incorporate castle-like features such as crenelated parapets (the gaps on the top of the towers above the entrance). Its exterior facade is made with Medina sandstone, which gives it an even more unique appearance. Armories built in New York and the rest of the country in this period throughout were often designed to resemble castles to show the strength and reach of the federal government, especially in its ability to squelch labor strikes. The armory was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1995.
Backstory and Context
Photo: Wikimedia Commons