Benjamin C. Moore Mill
Now home to the Flight of Five Winery, the Benjamin C. Moore Mill holds local and national significance. The stone structure was built around 1860 as the flour mill and converted into a water pumping station in 1864, using excess water from the adjacent Erie Canal, by mechanical engineer and inventor Birdsill Holly (1820-1894). It was one of the first water pumping stations in the country. It was unique in that it not only supplied pressured water to homes but also to fire hydrants as well. The water pressure could be regulated as well. Soon, other communities around the country built similar water systems using Holly's innovations.
Backstory and Context
"Old City Hall." The Historical Marker Database. Accessed January 15, 2019. https://www.hmdb.org/Marker.asp?Marker=76994.
Hill, John. Municipal and County Engineering Index. Vol. 58 (1920), January-June: 33. https://books.google.com/books?id=vEwfAQAAMAAJ&pg=PA33#v=onepage&q&f=false
Photo: Wikimedia Commons