By 1913, however, they had the funds to construct a small, simple synagogue. Julius and Molly Sugerman provided land, and New York City philanthropist Jacob Schiff donated $100 (equivalent to approximately $2500 in 2019) to the project. Knesseth Israel also received support from German business tycoon Baron Maurice de Hirsch. The Baron de Hirsch Fund, as well as its subsidiary the Jewish Agricultural Society, provided loans and financial backing to multiple communities of Jewish immigrants during this time.
Knesseth Israel Synagogue is a simple wood frame building with a hipped roof and a portico. Inside, it has a wrought iron balustrade, a unique feature among the historic synagogues of Connecticut. It was originally built at the intersection of Middle and Abbott Roads but in 1954 was moved to its current location on Pinney Street.