Typical of numerous 19th-century urban centers, newspapers were prevalent. Roughly a dozen various newspapers operated in Pawtucket during the period when the Times emerged, but most of them failed quickly. When the Times first published in 1885, success quickly followed, especially after David 0. Black purchased the paper in 1890. Circulation numbers in 1885 amounted to 3,500, which rose to nearly 15,000 the first year after Black took the helm.
Four generations of the Black family managed the Pawtucket Times before selling it in 1957 to New England Newspapers Inc., which later transitioned to Ingersoll Publications. And then in 1989, the Journal Registercompany purchased Ingersoll and controlled the Times as part of that operation until 2007, when the company sold the Times to Rhode Island Suburban Newspapers.
The Pawtucket Times Building, in conjunction with the adjoining Pawtucket Elks Lodge Building, stands as one of few remnants of genuinely urban streetscape remaining in Pawtucket. As noted in the nomination form to the National Register of Historic Places, Vertically, the five-story facade follows the traditional three-part formula of base (stone and glass ground floor), body (the three middle floors of yellow brick with limestone trim), and cap (the attic story with its ornate terra-cotta). The specific details of the facade are classically inspired as well, although there is a distinctly Colonial Revival flavor in the middle three stories.