Clio Logo

Eastern’s campus has been home to higher education since the founding of Central University in 1874. This tiny university consisted of the University Building, Memorial Hall, the Miller Gymnasium and the Chancellor’s House. Memorial Hall and the Miller Gymnasium are gone, but the Chancellor’s House still stands, now known as the Blanton House. A historical plaque is located near the University Building, a special destination in and of itself as the oldest building on campus. It is a steady reminder of EKU’s own humble beginnings.


  • Exterior of University Building, Ellendale in the background, first picture of Central University. EKU Photo Collection.
  • University Building, EKU, 1986. Madison County Historical Society.
  • Central University Preparatory School Building with students in the front yard, 1920s. EKU Photo Collection.
Ellis, William E. 2015. A history of Eastern Kentucky University : the school of opportunity. n.p.: Lexington : The University Press of Kentucky, ©2015.

“University Building ,” Discover EKU, accessed July 25, 2018, https://discovereku.omeka.net/items/show/858.