The F. W. Woolworth Building was built in 1938. In 2000, owner Scott Sirkin began renovations on the building, eventually creating the gallery space and Soda Fountain seen today. Rebuilt in its original location, the Soda Fountain adds another layer of nostalgia to the Woolworth Walk. It resembles the original Woolworth Luncheonette, adding a 50s flair to the space that compliments the local art.
The Woolworth Walk gallery features only local artists, immersing visitors in the history and culture of Asheville. The gallery welcomes new and experienced artists alike, providing a unique array of art for visitors to enjoy. Many types of art are displayed, including paintings, photographs, pottery, and glass work.