Fifteen-foot-tall concrete letters reading WSU and a steel-plate tower establish the western entrance to the university and serve as highly-visible icons to drivers traveling along State Route 270. Designed by Seattle-based Olson Kundig Architects, visitors will discover a light-filled, modular space that showcases materials developed at the WSU Composite Materials and Engineering Center and interactive displays that celebrate the research accomplishments and entrepreneurial spirit of faculty, students, staff, and alumni. The center's design-build team featured graduates from the WSU School of Design and Construction.
The Breslford WSU Visitor Center serves as a
welcoming center for Washington State University. Often affectionately referred
to as “Wazzu” from its acronym WSU, it was founded in 1890 as a land-grant
college and a three-member committee selected Pullman as its location on April
27, 1891, thrilling the community’s residents.1 Construction soon began on
the first building, a one-story red
brick building perched on a hill.
Agricultural College, Experiment Station and School of Science of the State of
Washington opened on January 13, 1892, with 59 students enrolled. The campus
developed over the next decade. The four-story Administration Building (now
called Thompson Hall) is the oldest building on campus, constructed in 1894.2
school was renamed the State College of Washington in 1905, and by 1915 was
officially Washington State College (WSC). The college grew significantly after
the end of World War II as veterans returned from overseas and took advantage
of the Servicemen’s Readjustment Act of 1944, which guaranteed them free
tuition and a monthly living allowance while in college. In 1959, WSC became a
full-fledged university, with the Washington State Legislature passing a bill
to change the school’s name to Washington State University.