Toledo Museum of Art
Backstory and Context
Businessman Edward Libbey and his wife Florence Scott Libbey founded the Toledo Museum of art in 1901. At its inception, the museum consisted of only two paintings and a mummified cat. It resided in a couple of rented rooms in the Gardner Building. In 1903, the museum moved into its second home on Madison Avenue and hired its first director, local artist and writer George Stevens. His wife, Nina Spalding Stevens, who had experience with the School of Applied Design for Women and the Art Students League in New York, became assistant director. Not until 1912 did the Toledo Museum of Art move into its iconic, Greek-style building on Monroe Street.
Over the years, the museum has grown thanks to donations from art collectors and other additions. In 1931, a peristyle auditorium was built for musical performances, including performances by the Toledo Symphony. The Georgia and David K. Welles Sculpture Garden opened in 2001. The museum has also remembered its founder, Edward Libbey, of the Libbey glass company. In 1962, the Studio Glass Movement began after the museum proved that glass work could be accomplished in a studio setting. In 2006, the Glass Pavilion opened its exhibitions of glass artwork, glassmaking facilities, and meeting spaces.
Kaptur, Marcy. Toledo Museum of Art. Library of Congress. Accessed October 17, 2018. http://memory.loc.gov/diglib/legacies/loc.afc.afc-legacies.200003444/.
Toledo Museum of Art. Ohio Traveler. Accessed October 17, 2018. https://www.ohiotraveler.com/toledo-museum-of-art/.
McMaster, Julie A. The enduring legacy: a pictorial history of the Toledo Museum of Art. archive.org. Accessed October 17, 2018. https://archive.org/details/enduringlegacypi00juli/page/n0. Published by the Toledo Museum of Art.