The Errolton house was constructed in 1854 around the remains of a house previously on the property. Weaver bought the partially burned Alfred R. Wolfington residence in 1853 and proceeded to incorporate what was left of the structure into his new house. Both the dining room and kitchen were saved and worked into the new house, as well as some exterior structures, such as a slave building. Both the original Wolfington house and Weaver Place were built on 16th section land, which was and is owned by Franklin Academy, the first free public school in the state of Mississippi. Because of this, the current owners of the house rent the land the house sits on from the school board.
Erroldine Hay Bateman purchased Weaver Place from the grandchildren of William B. Weaver in 1951. Mrs. Bateman is responsible for the change in name to Errolton, a tribute to her own Scottish ancestry. She is also the person who restored the house after it had decayed after the death of Nellie Weaver, daughter of William. The home has been known to have occurrences of paranormal activity through the years, the most notable being the appearance of Nellie's name etched in a window that was replaced after her passing.
The Errolton home is itself unique because of the way it blends different architectural styles. The home was constructed during a time when American architecture trends were transitioning, resulting in a mix of styles that is seen in only a few houses in the Columbus area. Elements of both Greek and Gothic styles can be seen in the home, a mixture that is interesting and striking. The house maintains a Greek Revival style character, displaying its Gothic influences in the portico's pointed arches. The two different styles come together to form a beautiful structure that is unique in many ways.