The Boots Court (also known as Boots Motel) was built by Arthur and Ilda Boots in 1939 originally consisting of eight units. In 1942 Mr. & Mrs. Ples Neely purchased the motel and added five more units to the back of the property. It was then owned by Mr. & Mrs. Ruben Asplin in 1948 until 1991 when Mr. & Mrs. John Ferguson became the last owner/operators of the motel. The building was nearly demolished in the early 2000s to make room for building a new drugstore but was saved by public outcry. Boots Court is now owned by Debye Harvey and Priscilla Bledsaw who purchased the property and saw to the restoration of the building back to operating condition.
Boots Court is of Art Deco design from the 1930s and early 1940s featuring streamlined curves and black speed lines on its facade accented by green neon lights. The property has carports for almost all units and once had gas pumps located near the front office (foundation for pumps still visible). The motel boasted in its heyday of having “A radio in every room” as well as having tile showers, floor furnaces, thermostat control and air conditioning making it a thoroughly modern building. The original sign with the radio boast, still hangs out front. Boots Court is one of the best known and most photographed lodging establishments on Route 66.