Over the course of its life, the house has changed families twice with a total of three different families living in the house. The Wyckoff family, who built the home, lived in it until 1835. That year, Cornelius W. Bennett purchased the home, along with the nearly 100 acres that surrounded it. The Bennett family used the property for farming for much of the 19th century. The house remained in the Bennett family until 1983, when the Mont family, Annette and Stuart, bought the home for $160,000. Though the Mont family intended to sell the property to New York City when they passed away, the deal fell through, so the Mont's plan to pass the home onto their children instead.
During the American Revolution, the homestead was occupied by Hessian forces stationed in the area. They used the property as quarters for their officers, who were hired by the British to help them combat the colonists. The name of two Hessian officers, Toepfer Capt. of Regt. de Ditfurth and M. Bach Lieutenant Hessen Hanau Artillerie, are carved into the windowpanes. Because of the home's lengthy life and rich history, it was designated a New York City landmark in 1968 and given a place on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.