Old Jones Motor Company building
Constructed in 1939, the Jones Motor Company was a combined gas station-service station-Ford Dealership building. Its unique architecture and layout was designed to both attract tourists and motorists to the site and to make pumping gas easier on motorists. After a few years, the site became to popular, it was expanded, particularly a shaded area, were visitors could wait in the shade and eat snacks. In 1957 the Jones Company moved to new location, whilst the building changed hands several times and then abandoned. In 1999 it was purchased by Kelly's Brew Pub, which is still in operation.
Backstory and Context
"In 1939, Ralph Jones, prominent local businessman and president of the Route 66 Association and the Albuquerque Chamber of Commerce, commissioned the construction of a gas station, a car dealership, and service station along Route 66 in Albuquerque. Architect Tom Danahy designed the one-story building in an Art Moderne style with white stucco, red brick coping, and a flat roof. The intent was to attract travelers with its location, design, and accessibility. The detailed stepped tower with abstract ornamental molding above the central portion of the building was one of the first icons encountered by westbound travelers on Route 66. Constructed at the eastern end of Albuquerque, the station featured gas pumps at an angle on one side, allowing motorists to easily access the pumps from two sides. Large display windows in front showcased the latest car models to passing travelers on the other side. Both sides were marked by curved walls.
"Properties by County" (PDF). New Mexico Department of Cultural Affairs.
"Jones Motor Co. a Designated Landmark". Albuquerque Journal. NM. December 27, 2001. p. D2.