The museum, which holds many artifacts unique to Hammond and its people, preserves the memories and heritage of generations of Hammond residents. Hammond is a rural farming area that borders on the spectacular St. Lawrence River and Black Lake.


Hammond has a rich history of farmers, in many cases descended from Scottish settlers that came in 1818.

The Hammond Museum was built in 1998 on land donated by Steve and Donna Demick.  No government grants or loans were needed as volunteer labor and donations built this exceptional museum.