Clio Logo

This entry has been deleted. Because of your role, you can view the entry or restore it to no longer be deleted.

Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) is a public research university located in Indianapolis, Indiana. Belonging to the university systems of both Indiana University and Purdue University, it is the result of a merger in 1969 of the Purdue Indianapolis Extension Center (1946) and Indiana University Indianapolis (1916). Located along the White River and Fall Creek it sits upon a peninsula adjacent to Downtown Indianapolis. Among more than 200 degree programs, the urban university hosts the primary campuses for both the Indiana University School of Medicine, with more than 2,000 students, and the Indiana University School of Dentistry; the only dental school in the state. Also represented among the graduate schools, the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law is one of the only two law schools operated by Indiana University, with the Indiana University Maurer School of Law being the Bloomington equivalent.

  • One of the early leaders of IUPUI, Maynard K. Hine.
  • IUPUI's University Library
  • The Informatics Building on the IUPUI campus
  • Campus Center
  • Aerial view of the campus
  • IUPUI's official logo
Founded in 1969, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis is an urban campus in Indianapolis – the 14th largest city in the United States with a population of nearly 2 million in the metropolitan statistical area. The campus is just west of downtown, within walking distance of the state capitol and other governmental offices, and the site of numerous nationally renowned businesses and art, sports, education and health facilities.

In 1968, Dr. Maynard K. Hine, dean of the IU School of Dentistry began working with then Indianapolis Mayor Richard Lugar, IU President Joseph L. Sutton, Purdue President Frederick L. Hovde and other forward-thinking community leaders to establish IUPUI in 1969 through the merger of the Indianapolis extension programs of both IU and Purdue. Some schools, however, were established before the merger including the IU School of Medicine, IU School of Dentistry, IU Robert H. McKinney School of Law, IU School of Liberal Arts and IU Herron School of Art.

IUPUI includes the nation’s largest nursing school, the second largest medical school in the country, the only dental school in the state and the country’s oldest school of physical education. IUPUI is among the top 20 campuses in the nation for graduate professional degrees conferred. As a core campus of Indiana University, IUPUI is governed by the IU Board of Trustees.

IUPUI is one of seven campuses of Indiana University and includes two Purdue University schools. The campus offers more than 225 degrees provided by 18 different schools. IUPUI has more students from Indiana than any other campus in the state, the largest number of underrepresented minorities in the Indiana University system and the largest population of graduate and professional students of any university in Indiana. Almost 75 percent of IUPUI classes have 25 or fewer students. IUPUI has more than 1,405 tenured or tenure-track faculty members. With research expenditures of nearly $272 million in 2014, IUPUI is the second-largest site for research in Indiana.

IUPUI's strategic research initiatives include:

-Signature Center Initiative
-Translating Research into Practice (TRIP)
-IUPUI Arts and Humanities Institute
-IUPUI Imaging Research Institute
-STEM Education Research Institute
-The Transportation Active Safety Institute (TASI)
-Integrated Nanosystems Development Institute
-Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute
-Indiana Physician Scientist Initiative
-Innovation-to-Enterprise Central
-Ideas Solving Social and Economic Challenges Student Competition
-IUPUI Nanotechnology Discovery Academy

IUPUI also houses five major editorial and research projects in the history of American ideas. The following projects and/or centers are part of the School of Liberal Arts:

The Peirce Edition Project, which is preparing a critical chronological edition of the writings of the American polymath Charles Sanders Peirce.
The Santayana Edition, which is preparing a critical edition of the works of the Spanish-born American philosopher and man of letters George Santayana.
The Josiah Royce Papers, which is preparing a critical edition of the works of the American idealist philosopher.
The Frederick Douglass Edition, which is preparing a critical edition of the writings of the 19th century journalist, orator, abolitionist, and African-American leader.
The Center for Ray Bradbury Studies, which is preparing a critical edition of Bradbury's short stories.

University Alumnus include:

-Norman Bridwell (Herron 1950), author and illustrator of Clifford the Big Red Dog
-Bettie Cadou (English 1957), journalist and photographer
-Julia Carson (Law 1963), former Indiana congresswoman
-Vija Celmins (Herron 1961), fine art painter and printmaker
-Dan Coats (Law 1971), former member of United States Senate and former member of United States House of Representatives, former U.S. Ambassador to Germany
-George Hill, professional NBA basketball player, point guard for the Utah Jazz
-Samuel D. Jackson (Law 1917), former member of United States Senate
-Mike Pence (Law 1986), Vice President of the United States, Governor of Indiana, and member of the United States House of Representatives from Indiana.
-Dan Quayle (Law 1974), former Vice President of the United States
-Arthur Raymond Robinson (Law 1910), former member of United States Senate
-Frederick Van Nuys (Law 1900), former member of United States Senate
-David Wolf (Medicine 1982), NASA astronaut; Purdue University Engineering Graduate
-Samuel E Vázquez (Herron 2010), abstract expressionist painter

 "IUPUI Fast Facts". Indiana University

 "History of IUPUI". IUPUI.