Graham Tyler Memorial Chapel
Backstory and Context
The McCormick chapel was built in 1887, and was used as a worship center for many years. After much wear and tear the building, a generous donation from MaryTyler as a memorial to her father, Graham Tyler, a man who had taken an interest in Park University, for the reconstruction of the chapel. With its old limestone look, the chapel had been built using old stone from the previous McCormick Chapel. The architect used the limestone to get the dynamic that Park University has. The new chapel was later named after him in his honor. Christmas night, 1937, a fire broke out in the chapel, which consumed the entire building. Many valuable items burned in the fire including: furnishings, tapestry, stained glass windows, pipe organ costing $15,000, and a painting of The Last Supper. The building was rebuilt September 16th, 1938, with a $100,000 insurance and a gifts from Park alum and friends. This rebuilding also included the installation of a new pipe organ, and a wood carving of Leonardo da Vinci's, The Last Supper, carved by Alois Lang. This quick rebuilding exemplified Park Colleges amazing ties with its alumni, and friends. This new building was used mainly as a worship center, and music department, until the great acoustics were found to be a great tool for music students. The building was later used as the International Center of Music in 2003. The building is now used mainly for Park University's International Center for Music, and concerts, performances, as well as classes are now held here also.
Beck, Bill. Fides et labor: 140 years of pioneering education: the story of Park University. Virginia Beach, VA: The Donning Company Publishers, 2015.
Graham Tyler Memorial Chapel Records. The Park Building Collection. Fishburn Archive and Special Collections. Park University, Parkville, MO.
McCormick Chapel Records. The Park Building Collection. Fishburn Archive and Special Collections. Park University, Parkville, MO.