Clio Logo

Located just east of the T.T. Wentworth Florida State Museum, this archaeological site, which features six historical markers/interpretive signs, dates back to colonial times. It is known as the Commanding Officer's Compound and is believed to be site where general and future president Andrew Jackson accepted the ceding of Florida to the United States July 1821 (the transfer ceremony took place on the grounds of the Plaza Ferdinand VII just down the street). The British built or perhaps rebuilt the compound's structures (which included an outdoor kitchen and a garden) after 1767. Spain would gain control of Florida in 1783 and hold on until 1821. This site was created in 1994. Bricks from the compound were likely used to build a masonic temple that once stood adjacent to the site., which is part of the Pensacola Colonial Archaeological Trail.

  • The site is covered by wooden walkways, allowing closer viewing.
  • Remains of brick walls can still be seen today.
"Colonial Archaeological Trail - Pensacola, Florida." Explore Southern History. Accessed January 12, 2017.

"The Commanding Officer's Compound." The Historical Marker Database. Accessed January 12, 2017. 

Photos by: Mark Hilton