Conde–Charlotte House Museum
The Conde–Charlotte House is a period house museum reflecting French, Spanish, English, American, and Confederate influences. It was built in 1822 as a courthouse and jail and expanded to a full house in 1850. The museum features period rooms: French sitting rooms and bedroom, an English commandant's room, a walled Spanish garden, an American dining room, and two Confederate parlors. Many unique furnishings are on display including a late 18th/early 19th century tea set, and the wedding dress worn by Willis Nobbs who in 1776 married Dr. Robert Hall (the dress was radiocarbon dated to prove its age), who served as a surgeon for the Continental Army during the American Revolution. The building was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.
Backstory and Context
Floyd, W. Warner. "Fort Conde-Charlotte House." National Park Service - National Register of Historic Places. December 12, 1973. https://focus.nps.gov/GetAsset?assetID=b8009503-f756-4ce4-b21c-8fcb27acfb06.