Located just north of the town of Estes Park, MacGregor Ranch is a picturesque, working cattle ranch and museum. It was established in 1873 by Alexander and Clara MacGregor and remained in the family until their granddaughter, Muriel, died in 1970 at the age of 60. The main building, the house, features items including original household furnishings, memorabilia, photographs, family clothing and handcrafts, original oil paintings, rock and mineral collections, and personal diaries. Other structures include the milk house, root cellar, smokehouse, and blacksmith's shop. Antique farm equipment is also on display and some is still used. Other activities include touring the nature center, hiking, camping, and taking wagon rides.
Backstory and Context
Interestingly, Muriel earned three degrees: a B.A. in Math, an M.A. in History, and B.A. in Law. She returned to the ranch in 1950 after her parents died and assumed responsibility of running it. Three years after she died, the the ranch opened as a museum. This was possible thanks to her decision to leave the property in a trust, which stipulated that it be used for educational purposes.
Homepage. MacGregor Ranch. Accessed November 16, 2016. http://macgregorranch.org/index.html.