By 1889, land was purchased and the city council began to establish a standardization for the city's street, many still unpaved and never given permanent names at the time. Hagerty and Lloyd's addition was one of 6 such additions planned for the city. Soon houses began popping up at a rapid pace throughout the district.
Whatever land leftover that was not having a house constructed on it, the two men donated it for the purposes of churches and schools to be constructed. For many years after the early 20th century, this district was known for its prosperous residents, though not very wealthy, who lived in beautiful homes of various architectural styles. The district had and still is a very popular place to live in. Today, there walking tours held for the district or visitors can do a self-guided one. The district includes 62 contributing buildings, including works by E.W. Van Meter, George Fossum, and Ursa Louis Freed, and includes Colonial Revival, Italianate, and Queen Anne architecture