Clio Logo

This Woman's Club began in 1913 through the efforts of a Mrs. Benjamin A. Greene. The Greenes moved to St. Petersburg from Evanston, Illinois and Mrs. Greene wanted to open a club for women, having experience back in Illinois through the local Federated Women's Club of which she served as president before moving. In 1922 a Building Fund was established and in 1929 the building we see now was completed and dedicated. In 1923, this local club was accepted as member of the General Federated Women's Clubs. Still in operation, the building is often used for weddings as well.


  • St. Petersburg Women's Club as it looks today
Staff (2010-07-09). "National Register Information System". National Register of Historic Places.