Schroeder Saddletree Factory Museum
The Museum includes the factory wood working shop, blacksmith shop, assembly shop, and the Schroeder home. The wood working shop was built in 1878, by 1889 steam powered machinery was introduced. The blacksmith shop was added in the 1890s. The old home has been made into a museum for the factory with the front parlor restored to showcase an average 1890s middle class family's parlor. The factory operated from 1878 to 1972 (operating on an "as needed" basis in the latter years).
Backstory and Context