Old Sturbridge Village
Opened in 1946, Old Sturbridge Village is the largest outdoor museum in the northeast, depicting rural life in the 18th and 19th centuries. The museum covers 200 acres and features 40 historic buildings. One of these buildings, the Oliver Wight House (built ca. 1780s), is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and was remodeled into a tavern restaurant in 2006. The museum contains 50,000 artifacts spread out within its buildings which include a school, country store, bank, working farm, mills, trade shops, and homes. Hearth cooking classes and authentic dining experiences are offered to help immerse visitors in the past.
Backstory and Context