The Cahoon Museum of American Art features works by folk artists Ralph and Martha Cahoon, as well as 19th and 20th century pieces and contemporary American art. The museum is located in a historic house built in 1775 by Ebeneezer Crocker. In addition to the art, the museum offers changing exhibitions, classes for children and adults, and other events throughout the year.
The home remained in the Crocker family until the 1920s. For the next 25 years, the property changed hands several time. In 1945, Ralph Cahoon purchased the home and converted it into a studio and place to showcase their work, as well as their collection of historic furnishings. After Ralph Calhoon died in 1982, local resident Rosemary Rapp bought the house with the intent of converting the home into a museum which opened in 1984.