The dedication of the Christian Knight represented the climax of the Lost Cause in Alabama. The ceremony took place in front of where the window was showcased, Amelia Gayle Gorgas Library, which is now known as Carmichael Hall. The dedication drew an audience consisting of members of the university community, Tuscaloosa patrons, Officers of the U.D.C. and seven of the Confederate veterans that were University of Alabama cadets on campus in April 1865. B.B. Comer, former governor and UA cadet, gave a speech. The crowd sang songs such as The Bonnie Blue Flag and Dixie, after which They leapt gallantly to their tottering feet and the old, wild rebel yell rose lustily, terribly from their feeble throats.
In 1939, the U.D.C. Memorial Window was taken down and relocated to the new Amelia Gayle Gorgas Library where it was until 1993, when the stained glass knight was relocated to the William Stanley Hoole Special Collections Library located in Mary Harmon Bryant Hall.