After the mine closed in 1906, the tunnels were abandoned for 75 years until they were bought by a family from Kentucky. The family members were originally coal miners looking for a different line of work. There is still gold left on the property today, but the cost of reaching and extracting it is greater than the gold's worth.
Today, the mine is open for tours that take visitors underground into the mine itself. The lower levels are flooded, but tourists can still enter the mine and see the upper levels. Visitors can also do some of their own gold panning. The mine is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.