Holliday-Dorsey-Fife House Museum
Backstory and Context
Built in 1855 by the Holliday family, the house gets its name from the three main owners that lived there: John Stiles Holliday, a doctor and uncle of the infamous "Doc" Holliday; Solomon Dawson Dorsey, a Confederate colonel; and Robert E. Lee Fife. There are four museum rooms: Gone With The Wind, War Between the States, Fayette County History and Genealogy (of the three former owners).
The City of Fayetteville purchased the Holliday-Dorsey-Fife House in the summer of 1999 and turned it over to the Downtown Development Authority. After securing a private donation, the home was restored and was opened as a museum in May 2003.
Fayetteville received Main Street designation in 1996. Since then, the downtown square has undergone a transformation process. Much of the downtown streetscape has been restored and many new businesses have been welcomed. The vision of Main Street is to re-establish the downtown area as the historical and cultural center of the county by creating a vibrant, thriving destination where culture, history, and commerce co-exist. The Holliday Dorsey Fife House Museum is an example of Main Street's efforts to bring culture to the community.