The Mountain Heritage Center
The Mountain Heritage Center is part of the Yancey County Cultural Resource Commission and is the office location for the Cultural Resource Commission. The building was built in 1914 as the Brown Dormitory for Boys, for the Yancey Collegiate Institute. For a brief time in the 1930s, the building housed Burnsville Elementary school.
Backstory and Context
building is currently The Mountain Heritage Center, and is part of
the Yancey County Cultural Resource Commission. The building is the
office location for the Cultural Resource Commission. The Mountain
Heritage Center is a recent renovation that includes studios for the
visual and performing arts. There are 12 studios available for rent. The building includes a professional recording studio, as
well as a showcase room for displaying local works of art and crafts
of Yancey County. One of its missions is to support local
artists, and invest resources to help encourage entrepreneurs to
deliver cultural experiences to our tourists.