The Penland Scool of Crafts
Backstory and Context
In 1928, she persuaded noted weaving expert Edward F. Worst to visit Penland and work with the weavers. When he returned in 1929, several out-of-state students joined a group of local women for a one-week class and The Penland School was born. Within a few years, Morgan added other crafts and began to raise funds and construct buildings.
That jolt came in the person of Penland's second director, sculptor and design teacher Bill Brown. Brown shared Morgan's devotion to experiential education, and he brought vision, new energy, and a network of connections in the emerging studio crafts movement. He put out a call for help and the artists who came to teach at Penland brought the school to new heights.
During his twenty-one year tenure, Brown added new media, such as iron and glass, began offering eight-week sessions called Concentrations, expanded the work-study scholarship program, and started the core fellowship and resident artist programs. The core fellowship program gives nine artists an opportuntity for two-years of full-time study at Penland. The resident artist program, which provides three years of low-cost housing and studio space, has nurtured the careers of many significant craftspeople and also helped create a vibrant craft community near the school.
recent years, Penland has expanded its range of media, improved the
physical plant, established a gallery and a community education
program, and continued to offer innovative classes. Students come to
Penland from all around. Some see it as a productive retreat,
some as a source of inspiration for their creative lives, and others
as a network for the exchange of information. What brings them
together is a love of materials and making, and the experience of
working in a supportive community atmosphere.