Located on the Stanford University campus, the Hanna House was designed by famous architect Frank Lloyd Wright. Built in 1937, Hanna House (sometimes referred to as Honeycomb House) was constructed for long-time Stanford professor Paul Hanna and his wife Jean. The home is unique in the Wright pantheon due to its incorporation of hexagonal modules and non-rectangular design and is a designated National Historic Landmark. Unfortunately, it is only open to the public for tours on Sundays.
initially, was a Usonian design, but its numerous expansions over the 25
years after it was built priced it beyond the means of middle-class Americans. When designed, it was estimated to cost $15,000
but cost overruns shot the final price to $37,000 and the house grew as the
Hanna family did. The family occupied
the house until 1975, when it was donated to the university. It has remained in their possession since.
The Hanna House
is built primarily of native redwood and San Jose concrete, brick and
glass. In fact, there is no paint
present in the house as all exposed surfaces are comprised of those four
materials. Wright, as he usually did,
blurred the lines between interior and exterior spaces. Built on 1.5 acres, the
single-story house features numerous tile terraces, built-in furnishings, an
open floor plan and a central clerestory. In addition to the main house, there is also a guest house, hobby shop,
storage building, double garage, carport, breezeway, and garden house with
small pools and a cascading waterfall present on the grounds.
was the home to four provosts until it was badly damaged in the Loma Prieta
Earthquake of 1989. It then went through
a decade long restoration effort and reopened in 1999. Stanford permits three, hour long tours every
Sunday. However, those tours are booked
months in advance.