Bement-Billings House (Bement-Billings Farmstead Museum)
Placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990, the Bement-Billings House is a historic home in Newark Valley, NY. It was originally built by Asa Bement in 1796 and expanded a few times in the following decades. The home, which contains 19th century furniture, is now part of the Bement-Billings House Farmstead Museum, which offers visitors a glimpse into how life was like in the 1800s. Interpreters wear period clothing and demonstrate various crafts and daily tasks that took place on a 19th-century farm. Other structures at the museum include a blacksmith's shop, threshing barn, wood shop, carriage shed and the welcome center. The museum is operated by the Newark Valley Historical Society, which also runs the Newark Valley Train Depot.
Backstory and Context
Asa Bement was a farmer and one of the area's original settlers. In addition to his farm, he also owned a blacksmith shop and a sawmill, both of which facilitated Newark Valley's economic growth. The house remained in the Bement family until 1891. It was purchased by Ichabod Ford who eventually sold it to his son-in-law William Billings in 1899. The last owner, Myrtie Louise Billings deeded the house to the Historical Society. Then in 1997, she donated 90 acres to the Society.
Homepage. Newark Valley Historical Society. Accessed September 24, 2015. http://www.nvhistory.org/#FarmsteadMuseum.