Clio Logo

The Myers Cottage built in 1907, now serves as the home of the Wrightsville Beach Museum of History. Originally located on 124 S. Lumina Street, the cottage was relocated Salisbury Street. The doors for the Wrightsville Beach Museum of History were opened to visitors in 1996. The museum offers many different exhibits.


  • The Myers Cottage built in 1907, now serves as the home of the Wrightsville Beach Museum of History. It's doors were opened to the public in 1996.

A historical account of how life was lived in a typical home on Wrightsville Beach is displayed by the Wrightsville Beach Museum.  Various exhibits relating to the area’s history is exhibited in one room. This room also offers an oral history video where longtime residents talk about life in the area.

There is an exhibit called “Wish You Were Here” that has recently been unveiled as a rotating exhibit. In this exhibit, postcards from the early twentieth century are displayed. Visitors can see the evolution of the town and the landmarks that surround it by looking at the postcards in the collection.

There is also a twelve foot model depicting what Wrightsville Beach looked like around 1910.  Here visitors can view replication of Lumina, the bathhouse, a working trolley car, Station One, Little Chapel on the Boardwalk, and the museum cottage at its original location.  The model was made by Maricam Kaleel of Model Makers.  There have been more recent additions that were done by Jon Michael and Ted O’Quinn.

"Current Exhibits at Wrightsville Beach Museum of History." Wrightsville Beach Museum of History. Web. 19 Sept. 2015.