H. Lee White Marine Museum
Located in Oswego, New York, the H. Lee White Marine Museum is dedicated to preserving the maritime history of Oswego. Founded in 1982 by local historian and professor Rosemary Sinnett Nesbitt, its exhibits explore the role the city and the eastern shore of Lake Ontario played in the country's history, and the shipbuilders, captains and others who helped shape Oswego's maritime heritage. The museum also features three vessels that visitors can board during the summer. One of these is the National Historic Landmark tugboat Major Elisha K. Henson (it also known as the Nash), the last functioning vessels used in the Normandy landings during WWII. The museum also features an archives and displays maritime related decorative art.
Backstory and Context
The museum is located in a 1925 building that served as the administrative offices for the James Steward Company, which was a grain mill company. The company's grain mill was torn down in 1999.