On May 1st, Kimball Medical Center held a 100th anniversary celebration on the grounds of the medical center. Kimball Medical Center and Barnabas Health administrators, local dignitaries, physicians, volunteers, employees and members of the community gathered to commemorate the hospital’s rich history. Originally named Paul Kimball Hospital, the 16-bed, 9-physican hospital opened on May 1st in 1913 to much excitement and fanfare.
1 Kimball Medical Center Celebrates A Century of Caring.
Fifty cases of rubella started and epidemic in Lakewood in the summer of 1908. The fact that this outbreak was preceded by nineteen cases of diphtheria in the early winter of the same year instigated plans to construct a hospital in 1910. Named for Dr. Paul T. Kimball, the nephew of Charles Henry Kimball who was the house physician at Laurel House from 1896 until his death, the hospital opened in 1913.2 Miller, Pauline.