Located in the village of Dennison, Ohio, the Dennison Railroad Depot Museum is a testament to the railroads that allowed Dennison to flourish. Dating back to 1864, the Railroad Depot in Dennison was a crucial water stop for the railroad on the path to Columbus, Ohio and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Eventually, the Railroad Depot was phased out of use, but recently is has been restored and converted into a museum, a restaurant, and a gift shop, all working to provide visitors with a feeling of what Dennison was and is.
In the mid-1800s, the village of Dennison, Ohio was
designed as a strategic railroad stop; it was established exactly 100 miles
away from both Columbus, Ohio and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, due to steam
engines’ needs to refuel every 100 miles. Established in 1864, Dennison quickly
became a necessary stop for the Pittsburgh, Cincinnati and St. Louis Railway,
as well as eventually the Pennsylvania Railroad, following the construction of
the Dennison Depot in 1873. The Dennison Depot was highly traveled for several
decades until a strike in 1921. The Depot itself recovered, and it quickly
regained its lost business, but the other stores and locations around the Depot
slowly closed down, and the Depot never regained the prevalence that it once
As cars began to become affordable in the 1900s, the
Dennison Depot began to be phased out of use, and in the 1970s, it ceased
running passenger train lines. Conrail purchased the Depot in 1976, but it
quickly downgraded the Depot in 1980 and it saw significantly less use.
Considerations were being put forth for the destruction of the Dennison Depot,
but the considerations were shot down, and instead, the Dennison Depot was
converted into a museum in 1989 – the Dennison Railroad Depot Museum. Soon
after, the State of Ohio purchased it in 1992, adding onto it a freight line
for tourist train travel. Since then, the Dennison Depot underwent a series of
renovations well into the 2000s.