Nestled along a bend in the Monongahela River is the small town of Rices Landing and its quaint Historic District that was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1992. Comprised of 63 buildings, five structures, and four archaeological sites, the district contains classic examples of vernacular, colonial revival, and craftsman homes as well early 20th century industrial sites and the Lock #6 Museum.
1780 by John Rice and divided by Pumpkin Run into Rices Landing and Newport
until 1903, the town began as a river port where goods could be shipped down
river to Pittsburgh, the Ohio River and beyond.
It also served as a storage site, with plenty of warehouse space for
whiskey, salt and flour. As the country
industrialized, Rices Landing industrialized as well, as it added a lock on the
Mon, the Henry Clay Frick Coke Company with its company homes, a nearby coal
mine, and a key rail line.
promenint buildings still standing include the Methodist Episcopal Church
(1873), a brick jail (c. 1850), the W.A. Young and Sons Machine Shop and Foundry, the
art deco Rices Landing National Bank, the Excelsior Pottery building and the
Hudson-Rambler Garage that once sold the iconic automobiles.
Landing maintians a small population of around 650 people, numerous public
parks along the Mon River and is quite proud of the part it played in the
industrial and transportation development of this country.