This living history museum seeks to present and interpret the experience of frontier life in eastern Carolina. The five-acre complex includes log homes and a church, a small museum, and a variety of recreated and historic structures that together create a frontier village. There are barns and various other buildings associated with agriculture, as well as a blacksmith shop, smokehouse, a general store that was first built in 1879, and an authentic one-room schoolhouse that was built in 1903. Visitors can also tour the Thomas Adrian Savage House which was built prior to the Civil War.
The origins of the museum complex date back to 1976, when local residents created a small exhibit of local farm tools during a local fair.