On the museum grounds sits a one-room schoolhouse, a replica of Fairview School, originally located just East of Humboldt itself. Within are civil records of the area, as well as pictures and society interest pieces from times past. The building is air-conditioned, and administrative tasks are performed here as well by the museum staff.
The main showcase is the museum's turn-of-the-century house. Built between 1867 and 1875, this all-original construction holds many displays and exhibits, and an additional wing attached to it which contains several other collections, including a working textile loom.