Clio Logo

This block of Park Avenue was originally called “Brick Row” because it was the only block where the first buildings were all constructed of brick. When the first lots were sold to businesses moving to the new town of Ruston, buyers were informed their businesses had to be of brick to create a positive impression on those passing through on the Vicksburg, Shreveport & Pacific Railroad. It continues to be the showcase of the Historic District.


  • Park Avenue. In its early days, often called Front Street or Railroad Avenue. Locals referred to the row of buildings as "Brick Row."
  • Park Avenue, 2019.

Graham, Kathleen. Notes on the History of Lincoln Parish. Ruston, Louisiana. Louisiana Polytechnic Institute, 1934.

Fletcheer, Mary Frances. Ropp, Ralph. Lincoln Parish History . Marceline, Missouri. Walsworth Publishing Company, 1976.