Martha Vick House
Backstory and Context
Newit Vick (his first name is also spelled as Newitt and Newett), a devout Methodist, established a mission in the area around 1812 or 1814. The city was incorporated in 1825 and named after him. Sadly, he and his wife, Elizabeth, died in 1819 of either yellow fever or malaria. He had just begun platting the city before he passed away. He and his wife had 13 children. Martha, who never married, built the house around 1830. She died in 1851 and the house became a Methodist parsonage. It is unclear who owned the house in the coming decades.
The house features antiques dating to the 18th and 19th centuries and French paintings in each room. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and a contributing property of the Grove Street-Jackson Street Historic District, which is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places. In terms of architecture, the house is unique for its use of brick. The exterior walls and all of the ornamentation, pilasters (columns), and cornice are made of brick. The interior features decorative plasterwork and original woodwork.
"About." Martha Vick House [Facebook page]. Accessed January 25, 2021. https://www.facebook.com/MarthaVickHouse/about/?ref=page_internal
"City's founder remembered, but detail on Vick are few." The Vicksburg Post. February 6, 2008. https://www.vicksburgpost.com/2008/02/06/citys-founder-remembered-but-details-on-vick-are-few020608.
"Martha Vick House." The Historical Marker Database. Accessed January 25, 2021. https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=109281.
"Martha Vick House." Visit Vicksburg. Accessed January 25, 2021. https://visitvicksburg.com/martha-vick-house.
Miller, Mary Warren. "1300 Grove Street House." National Park Service - National Register of Historic Places Nomination Form. November 29, 1983. https://npgallery.nps.gov/GetAsset/6a7fe09f-454a-45ff-bcc7-11e2969882ff.
The Historical Marker Database