Virtual Tour of Corpus Christi's Heritage Park
Heritage Park, located in downtown Corpus Christi, showcases 12 historic homes and is also the location of several museums.
The Instituto De Cultura Hispánica De Corpus Christi (the Institute of Hispanic Cultures) is a museum dedicated to promoting awareness about Hispanic cultures in the city. Founded in 1976, the institute achieves this goal through collaboration with local institutions and offers lectures, recitals in Spanish and English, theater performances, folklore displays, and hosts social gatherings. It is located in the Julius Lichtenstein House, which was built in 1905 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places 1983. The house was named a State Historical Landmark in 1976.
Originally built in 1893, this house was eventually owned by Ms. Charlotte King Cook Sidbury, a prominent female civic leader. The Sidbury House is included on the National Register of Historic Places and was designated a Texas Historic Landmark in 1976. The house is also listed as one of the "most haunted places in Corpus Christi."
Built in 1908 for the surveyor and civil engineer Asa Milton French, the Galvan House was moved from its original location on the corner of Waco and Comanche Streets to its current location in Heritage Park in 1983. It is an example of Colonial Revival architecture and was designated as a Texas Historic Landmark in 1986.
Built in 1851, The Merriman-Bobys House is the oldest structure in Heritage Park and the second oldest structure in Corpus Christi. It was moved from its original location to Heritage Park in 1982 and is an example of Greek Revival architecture. It currently houses the Corpus Christi Visitor Information Center.
The Littles-Martin house's original location is unknown, as it was moved in 1918 to North Staples Street. The house was given to Hattie and Willis Little after their retirement by their former employer. Hattie Little is believed to have been the first black Corpus Christie native. The house remained on North Staples Street until the death of the Littles' daughter in 1983, after which the house was again moved to its current location in Heritage Park. Restorations were funded by the National Associated of Colored People (NAACP) and the house is home to the local chapter's offices.
Along with other houses now located in downtown Corpus Christi's Heritage Park, the Jalufka-Govatos House now serves as a reminder of Southern Texas' multicultural history. Originally built in 1905 by James Jalufka, whose family immigrated from the Czech Republic with the Moravian religious movement, the house stood in what was known as "Old Irishtown." In 1944, the home was purchased by Pete and Minnie Lee Govatos, prominent members of the local Greek Community. The house, moved from its original location in 1987, and now features a photo collection of Southern Texas and Czech pioneers.
The Ward-McCampbell House originally stood on a beachfront Corpus Christi property but was moved to Heritage Park for restoration in 1984. The house was originally owned by Mary Alice Ward-McCampbell, and her family kept the house in their possession until 1945. The house was professionally recommended for restoration in 1980.
Referred to as the "hidden gem" of Heritage Park, the Grande-Grossman House was originally built in the 1860s for Benito Grande. In 1925, the house changed hands and was purchased by Rebbeca Grossman, whose family owned the house until 1982 when it was moved from its original location to Heritage Park. In 2015, the house became home to the Tejano Civil Rights Museum, which focuses on the Tejano and Mexican-American cultures of Southern Texas.
Simon Gegunheim, a successful merchant and philanthropist, built this house sometime around 1900. Most Victorian-era homes built in the Queen Anne architectural style were destroyed in the hurricane of 1919, marking the Gugenheim House as a staple of Corpus Christi's "Old Town." The house was built on a corner lot, as evidenced by the off-center doorway.