Walking Tour of the University of Leicester: Celebrating 100 Years of Student Life
This tour will give you a true insight into he university: its history, facilities and the student experience
The prize of Victoria Park beside the university, the Arch of Remembrance commemorates those who lost their lives in the First World War. It has since become a memorial to all who have lost their lives in conflicts since. It is intimately linked to the founding of the University.
The Henry Wellcome Center is another grand example of the university's commitment to providing a world class medical education for their students. Constructed in 2004, the site is home to some of the School of Medicine's most advanced technology, whilst also providing a welcoming atmosphere with the range of art they display in and around the building.
The Attenborough Arts Center is a very special place on the on the campus. Not known specifically as an arts university, it is a good space for for student expression beyond their subject. Furthermore, it is a good amalgamation of involvement between members of the public and university students of varying backgrounds and skill.
Completed in 2016, the George Davies Center is a one of a kind groundbreaking feat of architecture; providing top of the range facilities for medical students and researchers at the lowest monetary and ecological running cost. Costing £42 million, it is one of the universities largest investments of the last decade.
Completed in 1977, the Maurice Shock Building is is the largest building on campus and is home to the School of Biological sciences at the University of Leicester and is host to a variety of labs and lecture theatres, providing a unique site that amalgamates teaching and research for students and staff. The building is connected to the Adrian Building via a bridge.
The Percy Gee Building, primarily the home of the Students Union and the university events hall (now an o2 academy), is one of the oldest buildings on the campus in relation to when Leicester College attained its university status and was opened in 1958 by Queen Elizabeth II and the Duke of Edinburgh.
The Charles Wilson Building was constructed in 1967 as part of the university's expansion program in the 1960s. In its present form, it contains a plethora of student support services from counselling and financial support to providing affordable and tasty meals at the Chai restaurant and food hall for both students and staff.
Constructed and designed in 1970, the Attenborough Building (named after one of the universities eponymous founding families) is one of the most widely known buildings on the campus. This is in part due to to it's extensive complex of lecture theatres and seminar rooms which are used by all colleges at the university.
The Engineering Building is the most widely renowned building on campus. Designed and constructed by the architect James Stirling in 1971, it became an early symbol of his seminal architectural style and contains a variety of labs and lecture rooms for engineering students and for other colleges of the university.
The University of Leicester Library, named The David Wilson Library. Home to the university's extensive collection of books, the university archive and student facilities such as: silent work spaces, conference rooms, computer rooms and an on site cafe. Opened in 2008 by Queen Elizabeth II, it has won many awards for it's architecture and facilities.
The Grade II listed Fielding Johnson Building forms the main administrative hub of the University of Leicester. It was built in 1837 to designs by architect William Parsons as the Leicestershire Lunatic Asylum. During World War I the site was occupied by the Fifth Northern General Hospital, providing care for nearly 75,000 wounded soldiers. From 1921 the building housed Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland College, predecessor to the University of Leicester.