Historic Tour of Reading, Pennsylvania
Driving tour around Reading, Pennsylvania. On this tour you will visit beloved landmarks of the City of Reading and see the beautiful views of this city.
Constructed in 1891, the Neversink Mountain Hotel served many visitors to the Reading area until it was destroyed by a fire in 1905. The hotel sat on top of the beautiful Neversink Mountain and offered some of the most beautiful views of the city. The pavilion that sat at the end of the property, known to locals as the "Witches Hat," still stands today and holds a special place in the heart of local residents.
The Reading Pagoda is one of the oldest and most beloved landmarks in the city. Located on top of Mt. Penn, it is a historical landmark more than 100 years old. The pagoda was originally built to be a luxury resort, but due to financial mishaps, the hotel was never opened. Now, the building houses a cafe and is owned by the people of Reading. Visitors can climb to the top of the pagoda for a $1 donation, which goes toward the maintenance of the popular site.
The William Penn Memorial Fire Tower was built in 1939 as a tourist attraction for the City of Reading. The top stone structure on the fire tower stands taller than the Empire State Building and you can see as far as 60 miles each way. The fire tower is one of Readings beloved and most historic landmarks.
William H. Luden. Luden was one of Berks County's great industrialist who owned and operated the old Luden Candy Factory. He launched his business in 1879 which was then acquired by Food Industries of Philadelphia in 1928.
The Reading Public Library is the main library in the City of Reading. The library first opened to its subscription holders in 1763. The Reading Public Library is the sixth oldest public library in the United States
Located in a former factory building downtown Reading, the GoggleWorks Center for the Arts carries the proud role of being the premier art museum and supporter of creative arts. In addition to a variety of art galleries and exhibits showcasing everything from the classics to locally-produced work, the 145,000-square-foot GoggleWorks Center for the Arts provides necessary studio space for budding artists as well as classrooms for educational courses as well as workshops. In fact, the facility is so large that it encompasses six different buildings, making GoggleWorks the “Entire City Block Where Art Happens.” Every 10 weeks, GoggleWorks hosts over 200 arts-based classes and 35 in-house artists. With free admission, GoggleWorks invites the public to come as long as they would like to explore art through dance, music, and five ever-changing galleries.
The Reading Public Museum allows visitors to travel extensively from art to science, culture to culture, and from this world to outer space, all within its massive multi-room facility. Housing many collections that focus on art, science, world civilizations, artifacts, natural history, and much more, this museum is certainly a one-stop-shop for an eclectic variety of tastes and interests. Hence, it comes as no surprise that the Reading Public Museum is dedicated to being a dynamic center of lifelong learning and discovery and to engage the public through the preservation and interpretation of its exhibits. After spending time browsing through the museum collections, museum-goers can experience a state-of-the-art, full-immersion SciDome video at the Neag Planetarium or stroll through the 25-acre arboretum. The Reading Public Museum is accredited by the American Association of Museums.
Constructed between 1949 and 1951, this classic minor league ballpark opened as Municipal Memorial Stadium and is the oldest park in the Eastern League. Known today as FirstEnergy Stadium, the park is home to the Fightin' Phillies, also known as the Reading Phillies. Originally formed in 1885, the team has had many name changes through the years, but the Phillies have been in Reading longer than any other team in the Eastern League. In 1967, the team moved to Reading and became the double-A affiliate of the Philadelphia Phillies. The ballpark dates back to a unanimous 1945 vote by the Reading City Council to purchase the land in Cathedral Park for the purpose of a municipal stadium. The first minor league team to play here was an affiliate of Cleveland called Reading home from 1952 to 1961. They were followed by an affiliate of the Boston Red Sox until 1965.
The Mid-Atlantic Air Museum, located at Reading Regional Airport - Spaatz Field, is a living reminder of the golden age of flight, where the development of aviation technology and design was closely intertwined with national defense and growth. Visitors can discover dozens of military warplanes as well as classic airliners, including historic civilian aircraft. But as other air museums simply display their historic planes, the Mid-Atlantic Air Museum uses teams of volunteers to restore most of the planes to a fully functional capacity, which has allowed the Museum to offer ride-alongs in these historic planes. Virtual photo-tours are also available on the museum's website.