Jeremiah Woolsey House
Built in 1765 by its namesake, the Jeremiah Woolsey House is a fine example of Dutch Colonial architecture in the area, as exemplified by its unique Flemish bond brickwork. In addition to its architecture, the house is notable for its association with the Woolsey family who lived here until 1929. The most notable of the family is Jeremiah Woolsey, who worked as a tax assessor and highway commissioner. The house, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is a private home today and is not visible from the road.
Backstory and Context
Jeremiah Woolsey constructed this building in 1765, merely a few years prior to the American Revolution. The building is known for its Dutch Colonial style, which is easily recognizable from its design and furnishings.
During the Revolutionary War, Jeremiah Woolsey supported the American cause by serving as the commissioner to recruit men in New Jersey for the Continental Army. In 1780, he also successfully acquired food for the army, for which he received 37 pounds sterling at George Washington's request.The Woolsey family continued to occupy the house and remained an influential force in township affairs until 1929, when the last of the family chose to move out. The house is currently a private home, and thus isn’t open to the genera public. It still stands, over 200 years later, and was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.
Photo: Jerrye & Roy Klotz, MD, via Wikimedia Commons